The Sage Family were on their way to their pecan farm in Florida   1 comment

The Sage Family

The Sage Family

Name: Mr. John George Sage

Born: 1867

Age: 44 years

Last Residence: in Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England

Occupation: Tradesman

3rd Class passenger

First Embarked: Southampton on Wednesday, April 10, 1912

Ticket No. 2343 , £69 11s

Destination: Jacksonville, Florida

Died in the sinking/Body Not Recovered

 

John George Sage, 44, was born in London in 1867. When he was young, he worked at a number of jobs which included corn grinder, theater usher, bartender and baker.

He married Annie Elizabeth Cazaly, of the same age, on November 2, 1890. The couple went on to have 9 children: Stella Anne Sage, born 1891, George John Sage, born 1892, Douglas Bullen Sage, born 1894, Frederick Sage, born 1895, Dorothy Florence Sage, born 1897, Anthony William Sage, born 1899, Elizabeth Ada Sage, born 1901, Constance Gladys Sage, born 1904 and Thomas Henry Sage, born 1907. Two other children died as babies.

Near the turn of the century, the family lived in the Norfolk area, where John was the landlord of several public houses. Some years later, the family purchased a bakery on Gladstone Street in Peterborough.

John and his oldest son, George, had come to Canada to work as dining car attendants for the Canadian Pacific Railway. It was during this time in Canada that John visited Florida and loved It so much he sent the following postcard:

 

“Date illegible 1911

My Dear have found a lovely plot of land, Jacksonville is quite the most wonderful of places. I count the days until I’m home with my dear ones.

Your loving husband

John”

 

They decided to relocate the entire family to Jacksonville, Florida. John put a deposit on a farm there, where he intended to grow pecans. He returned to England in 1911, to prepare for the move to Jacksonville. George stayed in Florida and was engaged to a local girl there. In 1912 he too returned to England to settle some business.

John’s enthusiasm was not shared by Annie, having a fear of water since her daughter Dorothy had fallen into a well and almost drowned.

John sent the family piano and other furniture ahead with over £1,000 to pay off the balance on the farm.

The entire family boarded the Titanic at Southampton on ticket number CA.2343 on April 10, 1912. There are reports that place the family on the boat deck shortly before the Titanic went down.  Apparently Stella had gotten into a lifeboat, but got back out when she realized that her other family members were not going to be able to join her.

Sadly, the entire Sage family died in the sinking. Of the 11 family members, only the body of Will, age 13, was recovered.

The body of Will Sage was recovered by the MacKay Bennett, as #67 and was buried at sea on April 22, 1912. The notes from this recovery stated:

 

NO. 67. – MALE. – ESTIMATED AGE, 14. – HAIR, MEDIUM. CLOTHING – Grey suit (knickers); striped shirt; black boots and stockings. NO MARKS ON BODY OR CLOTHING. THIRD CLASS TICKET. WILL SAGE on ticket, List No. 20, Berth 126.

 

It is not known what became of their farm in Florida. When John’s estate went through probate in Peterborough on May 25, 1912 his effects came to £347 which went to his sister, Mary Ann Perrin.

 

Family members travelling on the same ticket:

 

Annie Elizabeth Sage, age 44

Stella Anne Sage, age 20

George John Sage, age 19

Douglas Bullen Sage, age 18

Frederick Sage, age 16

Dorothy Sage, age 14

Anthony William Sage, age 12

Elizabeth Ada Sage, age 10

Constance Gladys Sage, age 7

Thomas Henry Sage, age 4

 

 

One response to “The Sage Family were on their way to their pecan farm in Florida

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I live in a small town in Arkansas, USA (population is about 5000). My friend’s wife has always claimed that she sees, and talks to, spirits. I was at their house when I felt someone stroke the back of my head. I said something about it to my friend, and his wife said, “Oh, that’s Dorothy. She likes you a lot.” When I asked about Dorothy, my friend’s wife told me the she was a 14 year old girl who died in the Titanic disaster. That she was a third class passenger and that her entire family died with her. I decided to see what I could find and I found the Sage family, including Dorothy – a 14 year old, third class passenger. Coincidence? I think not. Dorothy “lives” with my friend and his wife – along with several other child spirits of various ages. She is there every day and every time I go to visit she insists on having a conversation with me – using my friend’s wife as her medium. She has told me several times that she especially likes to hear me sing along with my radio in my truck – I NEVER do that when I have a passenger! How did she know?

    Victor Huddleston

Leave a Reply

